English 12: Period 2 & 8

  • Course Description 
    In English 12, students will reflect on the diverse stories of others as a means to selfreflection regarding the paired themes of innocence and experience; love and hate; conformity and rebellion; and forgiveness and redemption. The dominant theme of the first anchor text in unit one of the course is innocence and experience, but it also touches on the other three thematic pairs of the course. In each of these subsequent three units, students will read at least one full-length text that delves deeper into each of the other thematic pairs as dominant focal points. Students will compose a personal narrative; engage in a problem-based research paper; write other argumentative and analytical essays; deliver a dramatic performance; and present a final project that has both oral and multimedia components.

    The course is divided into 4 units:
    Unit 1: Innocence and Experience
             Text: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald 
    Unit 2: Conformity and Rebellion
             Text: The Help by Kathryn Stockett or To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    Unit 3: Love and Hate
              Text: Selection of poetry and A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare
    Unit 4: Forgiveness and Redemption
              Text: The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom